APM Awards

APM Members Audit Prize 2017

Audit Prize for APM members organised by The Professional Standards Committee closed in October.  The Title of the winning project is:

“A quality improvement approach to cognitive assessment on hospice admission: could we use the 4AT or Short CAM?” by Lucy Baird from Marie Curie Hospice, Edinburgh.

Congratulations to Lucy.

National Clinical Excellence Awards (CEA) Round 2017

The Clinical Excellence award scheme is “to reward consultants who contribute most towards the delivery of safe and high quality care to patients, and who are continuously improving the quality of their services to patients and to the NHS ‘over and above’ the standard expected of consultants”. The National awards are particularly focussed on rewarding contributions that have regional and national impact.

The APM is a nominating body for the National Clinical Excellence Awards and can support applications made by our members. Deadline 19th March 2017.

Undergraduate Palliative Medicine Essay Prize 2016

Open to all UK and Ireland medical undergraduates who are students as of the closing date.

Entries should be no more than 2,000 words, excluding references which must be listed using the Vancouver system.

An electronic version of the application form and essay must be received by 28 November 2016.

Prize – £250


Rosalind Henderson for winning the Undergraduate Essay Prize 2016

Click here to view the winning essay

Twycross Research Prize 2016

Open to all APM members.

Entries should not exceed 3000 words and should be submitted electronically by 23 October 2016 with the submission form.

Prize: £500


Dr Shuchita Patel for winning the Twycross Research Prize 2016 for

‘An observational study of the prevalence of vivid dreams, nightmares and sleep/night terrors in patients with advanced cancer and their association with opioid analgesics’

Click here to view

Undergraduate Audit Prize 2016

Entrants are invited to submit a report of a clinical audit, service evaluation or quality improvement project to which they have made a significant contribution.

The report should not exceed 2000 words and should be submitted electronically by 23 September 2016 with the submission form.

Prize: Letter of commendation from the Chairs of Professional Standards and Trainee committees with a Certificate which will be awarded December 2016 and presented at the Junior Conference 2017.


Amy Worrall from Trinity College for winning the APM Undergraduate Audit Prize 2016 for

‘A retrospective study of blood pressure, orthostatic hypotension, and falls in advanced cancer in a specialist palliative care inpatient unit’

APM Award Rules

Undergraduate Palliative Medicine Essay Prize 2016

Rules of entry
Entry Form

Twycross Research Prize 2016

Twycross Entry Form 2016
Twycross Rules 2016

APM Award Winners